Double Chubb 50K/25K

Saturday, April 16, 2011 - 7:30 AM Start

The Venue

West Tyson County Park, 131 N. Outer Rd East, Eureka, Missouri 63025 from I-270, take I-44 west for 7 miles to the Lewis Road exit. At the Lewis Road exit, make a right turn (north). The park entrance is on your right immediately after the exit. Start area is the near the entry gate to the park.

The Course

The 50K run is two out-and-backs on the popular Chubb trail. The trail itself varies from a gravel service road, to a mostly dirt trail along the Meramec river, to a mile-long series of climbs, to finally a rolling trail that winds through the hills of the Meramec River. There are no stream crossings. There are two railroad crossings and extreme caution must be taken because the trains come through this area at a high rate of speed. Runners may see deer, turkey and other wild life throughout this accurately measured trail run.

Start of the 2011 Double Chubb

The 13th Annual Double Chubb Trail Runs

This year's race was held Saturday, April 16, 2010 at 7:30AM

Race Results

13th Annual Double Chubb 2011

I want to say a big thank you to all the runners that braved the cold, and a
bigger thank you to all the volunteers that helped make the 13th annual Double
Chubb race happen.

It was drizzle for the start and bright sunshine for the finish. It rained on
Friday, making for a bit of mud in the bottoms.

In the 25K Andy Koziatek won with a time of 1:43:38, with Eric Buckley taking
masters and second place with a time of 1:55:13, and Robert Fuerst was 3rd
setting a new record for the Senior's with a time of 1:58:43. Ray Hayes won
the Grandmaster with a time of 3:13:19.

Mary White was 5th overall, taking the women's Open with a time of 2:10:26,
and Laura Scherff was 7th overall taking the women's Masters division with
a time of 2:13:39. Adrienne Zawojski won the Senior division with a time of
3:25:57. Joyce Yarger won the GrandMaster division with a time of 6:46:40.

13 people that started the 50K stopped after one loop, completing the 25K.

Ben Creehan won the 50K, making it look easy with a time of 3:56:19, Chad
Silker tried his hardest to catch him, but finished just over 4 hours with a
time of 4:00:44. Joel Lammers won the Masters award with a time of 4:14:44.
Stuart Johnson bettered his Senior record by almost 10 minutes with a time of
4:48:26. Joe Neubauer won the GrandMaster with a time of 6:40:57 and Tom Reich
set a new Golden Master record with a time of 7:55:36.

On the women's side Christine Crawford won with a time of 4:35:04 bettering
her master's record. Casey Ulman won the Masters award with a time of 5:09:12,
some of you may have met Casey, as she headed up the training runs. (thanks
Casey). Carol Izadi set a new Senior's record with a time of 7:07:12.

We had a nice BBQ for the finishers, but this year it was a bit cold to hang
around too long. Most folks just grabbed a burger and headed out. The sun came
out late in the day. Thanks to all the volunteers, without you the race can
not happen.

Victoria White
Race Director


Pear Tree Inn (636) 343-8820 @I-44/Bowles Ave. or (800)325-0720
Drury Inn (636) 343-7822 @ I-44/ Bowles Ave.
Holiday Inn Express (636) 349-4444 1848 Bowles Ave.
Stratford Inn (636) 343-5757 800 S. Highway Drive
Fairfield Inn (636) 305-1500 1680 Fenton Business Park Ct.

All of the above lodging is located off of the Bowles Ave. exit in Fenton Missouri. This is one exit east of the race location exit (approximately 2 miles). There are several restaurants at this exit: Cracker Barrel, Dennys, Sonic, White Castle and McDonalds.

New Course Records - West Tyson Start

Open (2009) Will Harlin (33) NC 03:41:24
Master (2009) David Pokorny (41) MO 03:51:07
Senior (2011) Stuart Johnson (51) KS 04:48:26
Grand Master (2009) Joseph Neubauer (61) MO 06:03:34
Golden Master (2011) Tom Reich (70) MO 07:55:36

Open Female (2009) Christine Crawford (39) WI 04:34:11
Master Female (2011) Christine Crawford (41) MO 04:35:04
Senior Female (2011) Carol Izadi (51) 07:07:54

Open (2009) Andy Koziatek (27) MO 01:43:13
Master (2009) Scott Fader (40) IL 01:53:17
Senior (2011) Robert Fuerst (50) MO 01:58:43
Grand Master (2009) Tony Kramer (62) MO 02:17:05

Open Female (2009) Mary White (41) MO 02:07:42
Master (2009) Deb Johnson (49) KS 02:49:29
Senior Female (2009) Deb Schopp (55) MO 03:16:19
Grand Master Female (2009) Joyce Yarger (65) IL 05:07:01

Old Course Records - Lone Elk Start

Male Open & Masters (2007) Tom Whalen MO (41) 3:46:23
Senior (2007) Don Frichtl, IL (50) 4:55:00
Grand Master (2006) Jan Ryerse MO (60) & (2007) Tony Kramer MO (60) 5:16:05

Female Open (2005)Christine Crawford WI (35) & Becky Leahy MO (30) 4:26:11
Master (2002) Holly Neault-Zinzow WI (41) 4:42:23
Senior (2003) Clara DeCoster IL (50) 5:56:25

Male Open (2004) Zac Frendenburg IL (25) 1:33:11
Master (2007) Hugh Davis IN (43) 1:50:14
Senior (2007) Kim Colter MO (55) 2:08:42
Grand Master (2007) Jan Ryerse MO (61) 2:33:24

Female Open (2007) Mary White MO (39) 2:06:44
Masters (2003) Joan Bennett MO (40) 2:14:50
Senior (2005) Deb Schopp MO (50) 3:03:28
Grand Master (2005) Joyce Yarger IL (61) 4:42:00